Dusk

Someone need to update this blog.

You know what I love? This exact time of day in winter. I am sitting here, looking out at the sunset, a pink sky ablaze. The bare tree branches poking over the tops of buildings, those stupid geese swimming in the pond, lackadaisical.

 I can pick up this handy little remote and click on the Christmas lights on the balcony. Raucous and flashing. Obnoxious. I clicked it again. OFF.

My Dad, the english teacher, would always recite that Robert Frost poem on evenings like this. Well, maybe not recite. He would say, as we walked to the car, “The darkest evening of the year..”

I had to learn and recite that poem when I was in second grade. And I still remember every word.

The woods are lovely, dark and deep.
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.

2 responses to this post.

  1. You have remote control Christmas lights?! I didn’t know those really existed. Consider me jealous.

    Anyway, I’m here via the dooce community–just saying hi.

    Reply

    • Posted by cristinsblog on December 28, 2009 at 8:07 pm

      Yes, but I didn’t set it up. I have no idea how it works! Thanks for reading! Now, I must go visit vomitpopsicle.com.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

