You Know What’s Embarrassing?

I will tell you.

In the grocery store today I had my choice between two checkout lanes. One had 2 people in line but the super fast teenage boy checker. The other, one person in line but the teenage girl who picks up products as she’s scanning them, reads the labels and makes very strange small talk. Ex. from the other week, “A girl in my high school had a baby in the bathroom today.” Oh, really? That’s nice, can you please stop inspecting my bag of provolone cheese? It’s artisan, I know!

So as I had already started to pull my cart into the girl’s lane, I had a change of heart and decided that it would be smarter to go in the other line with the teenage boy.  While negotiating the path with my unwieldy, lummox of a cart, it’s wheel got stuck on a round rack (the kind that turns) of assorted candy. I didn’t realize the wheel was stuck and yanked so hard, I took the whole rack down, with 14,000 bags of candy that then lay sprawled all over the floor.

Um, oops.

I was so humiliated. That awful kind of embarrassing that takes a second to really sink in. Did that really just happen? Yeah.

 Thankfully, a nice employee came and assured me it was fine and put it back.

Teenage girl stands and gawks, chewing her gum.

End scene.

I can’t help but think at least I didn’t crash into it and fall down like Mary Katherine Gallagher.

SuperStaaaaah!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by cbabs on January 26, 2010 at 6:51 am

    You know what’s even more embarrassing? Catching the wrong plane, fighting with a stranger because he’s in my seat, and delaying the flight for at least 20 minutes before they announce at the speakers “Miss bambooska? Please come to the front. YOU’RE IN THE WRONG FLIGHT.”

    Reply

  2. Posted by cristinsblog on January 26, 2010 at 1:32 pm

    Ok, that is also embarrassing! Haha.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

