Irresponsible Bloggers

I know, I know. I have been just downright delinquent about updating this blog.

Like all 8 of you are shaking your heads at me.

It’s just that- my life is static now. Boring and static. Insert Downy anti-static joke here.

There are big life changes coming up and I don’t know where to begin. It involves moving back to Virginia, living in the most beautiful place imaginable, and doing a complete 180 in terms of a career.

But Cristin, that sounds just peachy!

Yeah, but it’s scary. It’s big and scary and gives me insomnia.

I don’t really know how to say the following without sounding like a complete asshole.

My brother has money.

A lot.

He has earned it. He invented computer software, lived in Silicon Valley for awhile, and it was bought by “The Man.” There’s a lot more to that story but I am not at liberty to discuss.  He still works for a well known company. I imagine he has a silo of gold coin like Scrooge McDuck and he goes swimming through it at his leisure.

He’s ten years older than me and technically my half-brother (long story) but he and his darling, wonderful wife, who I adore, want to help me.

I don’t mean help, like write me a check. Because, while that sounds nice,  it doesn’t really help me in the long run.

 I mean help, like have me live with them on their estate and farm (yes, it is an estate) and help with sister in law’s business. It is so generous of them to ask me. I am so humbled. But…

It’s scary.

It would be like starting over. And that’s like admitting what I’ve done didn’t work.

 And really, it DIDN’T work.

So…lots to think about.

And I think the Pioneer Woman has the “city girl lives on a farm and blogs” dynamic down already. And my photographs would look pretty amateur compared to hers.

But I do love the mountains of Virginia.

And chickens.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by cbabs on January 31, 2010 at 12:44 pm

    It does feel pretty scary, doesn’t it? I’m also taking a big u-turn in my life right now and I know the feeling. It shouldn’t keep our heads awake in the night yet I don’t get why it does. No matter how much we throw some effort not to.

    What keeps me better with this is when I think of five years from now. Do I see myself happy with what I’m about to do? Happier than I am right now? And the answer is yes. Yes, I do see myself happier. So, let’s just grab whatever opportunity fits us best, whether it is staying or not, and embrace it and just go with it, not much thinking on that. Thinking too much about things feels just wrong and it can freeze us with scare. So let’s just do it!

    Reply

  2. dude, i would totally take the help and who knows? this might the beginning of a whole new wonderful chapter of your life?

    Reply

    • Posted by cristinsblog on February 2, 2010 at 10:38 pm

      I am! It’s official. I am going back to Virginia in May. Good things are going to happen. Thanks for the comment!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

